Coverart for item
The Resource Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith

Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith

Label
Dimestore : a writer's life
Title
Dimestore
Title remainder
a writer's life
Statement of responsibility
Lee Smith
Title variation
Dime store
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Evenly divided between a book about Smith's process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son's mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr's The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for it's elegant and evocative writing. -- Lois Gross for LibraryReads.,"--NoveList
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 813/.54
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3569.M5376
LC item number
Z46 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Label
Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Preface: Raised to leave: some thoughts on "culture" -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy, or, Losing the mind of the South -- Good-bye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books -- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Control code
ocn911255341
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
xix, 202 pages
Isbn
9781616205027
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (OCoLC)911255341
  • (OCoLC)911255341
Label
Dimestore : a writer's life, Lee Smith
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Preface: Raised to leave: some thoughts on "culture" -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy, or, Losing the mind of the South -- Good-bye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books -- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
Control code
ocn911255341
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
xix, 202 pages
Isbn
9781616205027
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (OCoLC)911255341
  • (OCoLC)911255341

Library Locations

    • Green Lake Public Library (Caestecker)Borrow it
      518 Hill St, Green Lake, WI, 54941, US
      43.8451645 -88.9585917
Processing Feedback ...